Wells Constituency

The Wells parliamentary constituency covers around 215 square miles of stunning countryside in the north west of the county of Somerset.  To the north and east of the constituency are the Mendip Hills, to the west is the Somerset coast and the Bristol Channel and to the south are the Somerset Levels.  The main centres of population are the large villages of Cheddar, Street, Walton, Chilcompton and Wedmore; the towns of Axbridge, Highbridge, Burnham-on-Sea, Glastonbury and Shepton Mallet and the cathedral city of Wells.

The constituency borders the parliamentary seats of Weston-Super-Mare and North East Somerset to the north, Somerton & Frome to the east and Bridgwater & West Somerset to the south.  There are over 82,000 people registered to vote in the constituency living in 42,000 households.

The constituency is served by three local authorities; Mendip District Council to the east, Sedgemoor District Council to the west, and Somerset County Council overall.